August Wilhelm Henningsen receives award for life's work

ATE&M Lifetime Achievement Award

August Wilhelm Henningsen, who was Chairman of the Executive Board of Lufthansa Technik through April 2015, was honored at an event in London by the industry publication Aircraft Technology, Engineering & Maintenance (ATE&M) for his life's work. The jury commended Henningsen's lifelong and successful commitment to the aviation industry worldwide.

On occasion of the awards ceremony, Henningsen said, "I am extremely honored to have been nominated and selected by the jury to receive the esteemed ATE&M Lifetime Achievement Award. I would like to dedicate this award to the 26,000 highly qualified and motivated Lufthansa Technik employees in more than 30 companies around the world."

Dr. Johannes Bussmann, who succeeded Henningsen as CEO of Lufthansa Technik, commented: "Under the leadership of August Wilhelm Henningsen, Lufthansa Technik rose to the top of the world's MRO industry. His outstanding achievements for the good of the company and the industry are a strong motivation for me and the entire Lufthansa Technik management team. We are very grateful to him for the strength of his commitment over so many years."

Twenty years after its founding, Lufthansa Technik AG is one of the leading maintenance, repair and overhaul (MRO) organizations in the world, providing services to the Lufthansa Group and nearly 800 airline customers around the globe. The company currently supports more than 3,200 aircraft, and is continuing to expand its role as an innovation leader through a sizable investment program for research and development.

Henningsen began his career in 1979 as a system engineer at Deutsche Lufthansa in Hamburg. After holding a variety of management positions, including work in the overhaul and component maintenance areas, Henningsen was named General Manager of Ameco Beijing in 1997. He joined the Executive Board in April 2000 with responsibility for the Product and Service area until he was elected Chairman in January 2001.